Bruce Layman

Mar 2015

Every Day Carry

Over the past year or so, I've narrowed down my every day carry (EDC) to my favorite items. I cannot imagine replacing any of these things (except a full memo book) as part of my EDC. Most of these items are simple, well-designed items that do one or two things exceptionally well. My favorite color is orange, so you'll find a lot of it.

iPhone 6 in an orange Tec 21

I've had an iPhone since the 3G and I can't imagine carrying anything else. There are so many iOS only apps I rely on everyday, OmniFocus, Dispatch, and Overcast (even my favorite app comes in orange).

Benchmade 585 Mini Barrage

Though it's a bit on the heavy side, I love the size of the 585, and the exclusive Cabela's orange was perfect for me.

Saddleback Leather Sleeve Wallet

Their motto is, "They'll fight over it when you're dead." I'm pretty sure this is the last wallet I'll have to buy. I keep 4 cards

Garmin Vivofit

I have a Garmin Tri-watch that I use as my run and cycling computer, so having something that plays nicely with that system is great. The red move bar that fills up is fantastic for getting me off my ass and getting me to go on a walk.

Ray Ban Clubmasters

Something classic, but a bit less common than the ubiquitous Wayfarer.

Corter Leather Bottlehook Limited Edition Rangefinder

This helped me slim down my keys by combining the hook and bottle opener into one beautiful tool. I've never had a problem getting it on or off my belt loop, plus the way it's aged is beautiful.

Pilot Vanishing Point EF Nib, Matte Black with Platinum Carbon Black ink.

There is no fountain pen in my collection that I reach for before this one. It might surprise a lot of my fellow pen addicts to see the exposed brass, scratches, and scrapes on my Vanishing Point given the price point of this pen, but I love the fact that my VP now has some character. I will have a longer review up soon, but for now, know that I enjoy that this pen gets a little bit of patina, which means it matches my Bottlehook. The Carbon Blacks in such a fine point also tends to play pretty nicely with Field Notes and Doane memo books, and even if there is a bit of bleed, it doesn't bother me a bit.

Karas Kustoms Render K

The guys at Karas Kustoms make some of my favorite pens. I have a Bolt in orange (shocking) and I'm just waiting to the orange Ink to go back in stock and I'll be placing an order. The Render K is by far the most solid pen I own and it pairs perfectly with my favorite Hi-Tec-C or Uni Signo 0.3 mm refills. It's a perfect companion for my last item.

Memo Book

This is the only item in my EDC that gets changed out. I fill 48 page memo books in about two weeks, so there is always a different color one in my pocket. I rotate between Field Notes, Doane Paper, and Word. notebooks. I have a few habits when writing in them that I'll detail in the future, but Field Notes' motto, "I'm not writing it down to remember it later, I'm writing it down to remember it now" perfectly captures why I rely so heavily on these little books.