Bruce Layman

Apr 2015

Quick Look: Field Notes COLORS Edition No. 26

[caption id="" align=“alignnone” width=“2500.0”] 2015 Spring Edition - Two Rivers 2015 Spring Edition - Two Rivers [/caption]

I have always taken notes. Half-filled notebooks and scraps of paper filled the drawers of my childhood desk and boxes in my closet. It took me 22 years to finally find a system that stuck. I have to credit Myke Hurley and Brad Dowdy of The Pen Addict Podcast for introducing me to Field Notes (drink).

Field Notes motto, I'm not writing this down to remember it later, I'm writing it down to remember it now. is what I live by. Now, with these amazing 3.5''x5.5'' memo books, I have a place where all of the things I need to remember now and later can live. I fill a memo book in about two weeks, so I always have fresh ones handy.

[caption id="" align=“alignnone” width=“2261.0”] I really love the red over the green and brown, and especially the farm animals around the bowl.  I really love the red over the green and brown, and especially the farm animals around the bowl.  [/caption]

I was given a Field Notes COLORS Subscription for Chistmas in 2013 (which is the perfect gift for any pen and paper addict in your life) and now I have two yearly subscriptions. I never have to worry about missing out on all of the amazing editions they create, and it keeps me stocked with kraft notebooks to give to people as a way to spread the joy of using a Field Notes notebook.

[caption id="" align=“alignnone” width=“2261.0”] All of these ended up with big type on them. It's fun trying to piece together what the whole print would look like.  All of these ended up with big type on them. It’s fun trying to piece together what the whole print would look like.  [/caption]

The spring edition for 2015 is absolutely incredible, and the covers are my favorite yet. Not only is each and everyone unique (which made me open every one of my packs, something I NEVER do), but the story behind them is incredible too. I highly recommend ordering the maximum number of packs you're allowed and donating to the Hamilton Wood Type & Printing Museum.

[caption id="" align=“alignnone” width=“1931.0”] According to The Pen Addict himself, the yellow ones might be the most rare. The Hamilton logo on the top one is awesome. According to The Pen Addict himself, the yellow ones might be the most rare. The Hamilton logo on the top one is awesome. [/caption]

The fact that every cover has a unique print blows my mind, and it kind of throws a wrench in the "gotta catch 'em all" attitude I used to have about my Field Notes. I intend to fill every single one of these beauties over the next few months.

[caption id="" align=“alignnone” width=“1931.0”] All the layers of red and blue text on the top one make it my favorite of the bunch.  All the layers of red and blue text on the top one make it my favorite of the bunch.  [/caption]